International Green Pen 2009 Awards winners are:

The International Green Pen Foundation (IGPF) launched the International Green Pen Awards in 1998. Since then dozens of environmental journalists from around the world have been honoured. International Green Pen Foundation(IGPF) headquarters in Colombo, Sri Lanka, announced that five individual journalists from USA, UK, Brasil, Cook Islands and Belarus have won the award

Dr.Dharman Wickremaratne, Executive Coordinator of International Green Pen Foundation(IGPF), commented: ‘The International Green Pen Awards are to honour those who have made great contributions to environmental media at the country and regional level.’

The 2009 International Green Pen Award winners were:

For further information of aword winners click here…
Prof Sharon M. Friedman of USA
Haroldo F Castro of Brazil
Carmen Miranda of India
Nanette Woonton of Cook Islands
Natallia Sliadneva of Belarus


The Asia-Pacific Forum of Environmental Journalists(APFEJ), International Green Pen Award is presented each year at the annual congress for journalists who have made a significant contribution in promoting environmental journalism.

The Asia-Pacific Forum of Environmental Journalists(APFEJ) is a network and regional association founded in 1988,dedicated to promoting education understanding and awareness of the environment through the honest and accurate reporting of local, regional and international environmental and development issues. It acts as the head of national environmental journalist forums(NFEJ) or media organisations of 42 countries in the Asia-Pacific region. Members every type of medium, include journalists working for newspapers, magazines, radio, broadcasters, NGOs, environmental groups, government agencies, scientific authors, filmmakers and as freelancers etc.The APFEJ adhoc committee was formed in 1985 at a regional conference on media and environment in Delhi organized by UN-ESCAP in collaboration with the UNEP.

Today, APFEJ,is the oldest and largest organization of professional environmental journalists, contacts over 12,000 members in nearly 150 countries around the world.The mission of APFEJ to build into a strong, independent and committed to promote excellence in environmental journalism worldwide by supporting environmental journalists specially Asia pacific through Professionalism, Freedom of expression, Social responsibility, environmental justice, Networking and training.

International Green Pen Award
is open to all full-time or freelance journalists in the world working in all forms of media, the environment, UN, government agencies and NGOs. It is aimed to recognize the leadership of individuals in the field of environmental journalism – people who help, inspire and support others in the field. Each winner receives a Trophy and an award certificate. No cash prize. Entry fees apply for developing country citizens US$ 100 and for all others US$200 per each entry No entry fees for APFEJ national chapters recommended NFEJ members.

Nominations can be made by March 30, each year and must include the nominees name, contact details, examples of their work and reasons for the nominations.

The 2010 awards were presenting on June 05, 2010   at a special ceremony at the 19th World congress of Environmental Journalists in Suva – Fiji.


Nina Ratulele receives the International Green Pen Award at the 1999 Dhaka Congress
from APFEJ Founding Chairperson Aditya Man Shrestha

Nominations can be sent to:

Nominations can be sent to by Post:

Dr.Dharman Wickremaretne
Director- International Green Pen Awards
Asia-Pacific Forum of Environmental Journalists(APFEJ)
PO Box 26
434/3 Sri Jayawardenapura.
Sri Lanka.
Tel:++94-71- 2733986 / 5648151

Some of the previous winners of the Green Pen Awards include:
Aditya Man Shrestha, Nepal
Valentin Thurn, Germany
Prof Jim Detjen, USA
Nina Ratulele, Fiji
Vijay Menon, Singapore
Manuel Satorre Jr, Philippines
Yang Mao, China
Marti Sarvati, Hungary